Rollo Witton has left AMA WA to take up a position as recruitment and professional development manager for the WA general practices within the National Medical & Imaging Group.

Michael Keeble has been appointed the new CEO at Central Wheatbelt Division of General Practice.

Nobel laureates Prof Barry Marshall and Emeritus Prof Robin Warren have been named WA's Australians of the Year. GP Dr Ken Collins was named WA's senior Australian of the Year.

Dr John Upham has moved to Queensland to take up the role of Professor of Respiratory Medicine at Princess Alexandra Hospital.

Dale Brown has taken on the new role at IPN as Head of Acquisition and Recruitment WA, focussing on recruiting doctors and practices, while Tim Maeder has commenced as IPN's WA state director.

Telethon Institute for Child Health Research clinician A/Prof Deborah Lehmann has received a WA Public Health Association of Australian Award for her outstanding contribution to public health.

Following the HBF CEO reshuffle, Mr Nigel Jones and Ms Ricki Smith have been promoted to group general managers, Mr Tony Vis has been named general manager corporate services, Mr Mathias Cormann moves to manager health insurance, Ms Sheila Hood will step up to the Healthguard public officer position, and Mr Steve Hollow has been promoted to general manager health insurance and general insurance. Mr Tony Ianello has been appointed as a non-executive director of HBF Health Funds and Mr Ivor James named a non-executive director of HBF Insurance

Mr Graeme Howie has stepped down as managing director of Solbec Pharmaceuticals.

IM Medical has appointed Mr Roman Najdecki as company secretary and chief financial officer.

Mr Trels Jordansen has been named non-executive director of Bone Medical.

Dr Margherita Nicoletti has relocated from Canberra to take up the post of Director of Palliative Care at Murdoch Community Hospice.

Following the 2006 RACGP examinations, Dr Helen Wilcox was awarded the M.O. Kent-Hughes Memorial Medal (for highest overall score) and the Edward Gawthorn Prize (awarded to the WA candidate with the highest overall score).

Mr Peter Jooste QC was appointed as chairman of Eastland Medical Systems following Mr Don O'Sullivan's resignation.

The winners of the inaugural Healthy WA Awards, presented in late 2006, were the WA Country Health Services – South West and Collie GP Collaboration (Healthy Partnerships award), WACHS Midwest (Healthy Communities award), Ambulatory Surgery Initiative – North Metro Area Health Service (Healthy Resources award), and Fremantle Hospital & Health Service (Healthy Leadership award).

Air Liquide Healthcare are looking for a replacement WA branch manager following the departure of Mr Tony Linfoot.

Sirtex company founder and ex-Perth surgeon Dr Bruce Gray has been voted off the company board by shareholders after an acrimonious boardroom battle.

UWA Epidemiologist Dr Adeleh Shirangi has won a Sidney Sax Fellowship to study child health at the Imperial College in London.