Consultant geriatrician at SCGH Dr Elissa Campbell is the inaugural recipient of the WA Department of Health Churchill Fellowship. Elissa will work with clinicians in New Zealand, US, UK, Netherlands and Singapore to explore models of palliative care for people living with, and dying from, dementia. Sarah Joyce, Project Director at the department, and Carol Kaplanian, Women’s Health Coordinator from the Women and Newborn Health also were awarded a Churchill fellowship.

Armadale GP Dr Ramya Raman is the RACGP’s WA GP of the Year.

Armadale GP Dr Ramya Raman is the RACGP’s WA GP of the Year. The award for GP in Training went to Ferndale GP Dr Anastasia Isakova. The General Practice of the Year is Fulham GP in Cloverdale and the GP Supervisor of the Year is Dr Andrew P’Ng, of South Perth.

Three WA medical and health researchers are among the 28 who have been elected as fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. They are Professor Ian Constable, Lions Eye Institute, Professor Alistair Forrest, head of Systems Biology and Genomics, University of WA, and Professor Lin Fritschi, Professor of Epidemiology, Curtin University.

Professor Helen Milroy is among the seven finalists of the 2020 Australian Mental Health Prize, which is decided by the Australian Mental Health Prize Advisory Group. She is the Stan Perron Chair of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the Perth Children’s Hospital and UWA. She is also a Commissioner with the National Mental Health Commission, Chair of Gayaa Dhuwi Proud Spirit Australia, Co-Chair of the Million Minds Medical Research Advisory Group, and the AFL’s first Indigenous Commissioner.

No more articles